Login Register

Firefighters could be honoured for efforts

By Burton Mail  |  Posted: May 30, 2014

Comments (0)

A RAFT of people across East Staffordshire have been nominated for their work in protecting the area from the threat of fire.

Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service revealed firefighters and crews in the borough had scooped several nominations in the annual MORE awards.

The event aims to highlight the excellent work carried out by staff as well as volunteers.

Fire crews from Tutbury and Abbots Bromley have been nominated for the fire service champion award for their response to an incident in which 38-year-old Lisa Oldham sadly died, and their subsequent fund-raising in her memory.

Philip Mulligan and community safety officer Jo Walker have been nominated by East Staffordshire Borough Council’s housing team for being its ‘most inspirational and reliable partner’.

Nestle UK Ltd has been put forward for the partnership achievement award for supporting past and present Tutbury firefighters for nearly 50 years. The company has been flexible allowing workers, who are also retained firefighters, to be released from their duties to attend potentially life-threatening incidents in their community.

A nomination in the service to the community category has gone to the crew at Tutbury Fire Station for ‘pro-actively identifying’ vulnerable members of the community who need extra support.

Sharmayne Pearcefirst has been nominated as young person of the year for her work as a student firefighter.

Chief fire officer Peter Dartford said: “We are lucky to have an extremely dedicated and hard-working team, in terms of operational and support staff as well as voluntary members of the team, at Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service and we are proud of the excellent work that they carry out on a daily basis.

“The roles within the service are incredibly diverse, but each member of staff plays a key part in ensuring it runs smoothly and every individual is a vital cog in our wheel.

“The awards are our way of thanking those who have gone the extra mile.”

The winners will be announced on June 12.

Read more from Burton Mail

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters