Login Register

Cycling: Jason Seabridge powers to a new Mercia record

By Burton Mail  |  Posted: July 25, 2014

PEDAL POWER ... Jason Seabridge.

Comments (1)

THE Mercia Cycling Club's 30-mile time trial on the Etwall-Doveridge-Uttoxeter course proved to be a fast one with five out of the six riders either doing personal bests or club records.

Jason Seabridge, who finished in eighth place, timed 1.02.19 to set up a new club record and a personal best.

He was also in the prize money with the fastest time in the 40-44 age group.

As well as organising the time trial, Anne Staley was the third fastest lady to win prize money as well. With a time of 1.18,37, she set a personal best and a new ladies' record.

Jack Hugill timed 1.05.50 to finish in 20th place, Ben Startin timed 1.08.45 and Tony Marlow finished in 1.14.49 – all three were personal bests.

Peter Rose timed 1.40,48, five minutes faster than his last 30 mile time trial.

Matt Bottrill (www.drag2zero.com) finished in 56.15, the second fastest time in a 30-mile time trial and a course record.

South Pennine Road Club's Charles Taylor, from Egginton, won the National Championship 100- mile time trial held on four 25-mile circuits near Swaffham. in Norfolk.

It was Taylor's ideal sort of race, using lower gears to his advantage on a rolling course .

His time was 3.43.28, coming home more than two minutes in front of race favourite Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC, 3.45.37.

This year, Taylor has been coached by fast man Mathew Bottrill, who told him the course was perfect for him to win on.

Sean Sleigh had his best racing result to date when he finished second in the Darley Moor Road Race for third and fourth category riders over 55km. He was beaten in the sprint for the line by Garry Cutting (British Cycling private member).

His daughter Lauren finished third in the girls' under-16 race won by Harriet Mellor (Hillingdon Slipstreamers).

Joshua Waters (Sherwood Pines Cycles SRAM RT) was back to winning ways when he won the under-16 boys' race. His team-mate Scott Hookway was seond.

David Clarke (KTM Road and Trail.com) competed in the British National Circuit Road Race Championship held in Hull's Queen Victory Square.

The race was over one hour of a two kilometre circuit. He finished in 35th place. Team-mate Andrew Hawdon finished 12th.

Former BMC continental rider Adam Blyth (NFTO) out-sprinted Chris Opie (Rapha Conder JLT) to win the championship.

Mercia's 10 mile evening time trial on the Anslow circuit attracted 24 riders to compete on a fine, warm evening.

Jason Seabridge was the fastest in 23.39 followed by Andrew Butler in 24.40 and Ben Startin in 25.32.

The rest of the times were: Andy Wray 25.59, Dan Partington 26.03, Joshua Waters (Sherwood Pines Cycles SRAM ) 26,04,Simon Parker 26,16, Oliver Parker 26,17, Darren Holmes 27,8, Jeff Slinn 27.42, Mick Brough 28.04, Tony Marlow 28.26, Andy Burton 28.30, Bailey Waters 28.38, Andy Leach 28.47, Steve Collier 29.00, Robert Mangham 29.10, James Allen 29.57, Paul Hudson 31.00, Nick Marriott 31.29, Ryan Turner 32.48, Lauren Sleigh 33.17, Peter Rose 38.29 and at one lap Dave Peters 18.40. The first three on handicap were Ryan Turner 19.48, Lauren Sleigh 20.32 and Bailey Waters 20.38.

Five Mercia members were part of the 20 who competed in the South Pennine Road Club's 10-mile evening time trial.

Times: Jack Hugill 21.23, Tony Marlow 23.56, Anne Staley 25.30, Nick Marriott 26.31, Peter Rose 30.17. The fastest rider was Shaun Eden (Mapperley CC) in 20.18.

Read more from Burton Mail

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters